Member States: Schengen restrictions on land, air and sea borders

Submitted by Alina Danieles… on 01 April 2020

The coronavirus outbreak has pushed many Member States to reintroduce border controls at internal borders on the grounds of an immediate threat to public policy. Member States must notify the Commission and the other Member States before taking action, specifying the reasons, scope and duration of the measures.

The European Parliament Think Tank has mapped all Schengen restrictions on land, air and sea borders put in place by the Member States of the EU. The maps show the dates during which the border controls will be in place based on the notifications to the European Commission:

The European Commission issued guidelines for border management measures to protect health and ensure the availability of goods and essential services.

The Schengen Area consists of 26 countries that have agreed to remove regular checks at their internal borders in order to facilitate the free and unrestricted movement of people: 22 EU Member States (Belgium, Czechia, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland and Sweden), and 4 associated countries (Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein).

Share this Article