State Aid measures approvals for EU Member States

Submitted by Tedora Aibu on 04 May 2020

The European Commission has announced the approval of 127 State Aid measures in April for the EU Member States. These aid measures aim to support businesses and protect livelihoods across Europe during the COVID-19 outbreak. The European Commission continues to work closely with each EU Member State to ensure the economical status can bounce back strongly after the current global health crisis subsides. The outbreak of COVID-19 has had a significant economic impact on all the countries. Several Member States have announced support measures for citizens or companies, from which some of them may entail State Aid within the meaning of Article 107 Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU). Article 107 TFEU defines State Aid as any aid granted by a Member State or through state resources in any form whatsoever which distorts or threatens to distort competition by favouring certain undertakings or the production of certain goods. 

To read more on the types of State Aid measure taken for each EU Member State, please click here. © European Union, 1995-2020.

Share this Article