EU and Singapore sign cluster cooperation agreement

Submitted by Lee Gibson on 03 December 2020

The European Union (EU) and Singapore today formally signed an administrative agreement on cluster cooperation.

The signing ceremony was the highlight of an online event celebrating the first anniversay of the EU-Singapore Free Trade Agreement (EUSFA)- with EU Ambassador Barbara Plinkert; Gabriel Lim, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Trade and Industry of Singapore; and Png Cheong Boon, chief executive officer of Enterprise Singapore, putting pen to paper.

The signing was witnessed by Minister S Iswaran, Singapore's Minister for Communications and Information and Minister-in-Charge of Trade, with European Commission Executive Vice-President for an Economy that Works for People, Valdis Dombrovskis, also attending the event.

The agreement seeks to build upon the benefits of the EUSFA and specifically increase the cooperation between industry clusters in Singapore and the EU, particularly in view of the need to drive a resilient and sustainable joint recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Minister Iswaran and Executive Vice-President Dombrovskis both delivered keynote addresses during the two-hour first-anniversay celebration event, which also featured presentations and discussion panels involving key stakeholders and business leaders from Singapore and Europe.

The event was organised by the Singapore Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) and the European Union Delegation in Singapore with the support of Enterprise Singapore (ESG), the Singapore Business Federation (SBF) and the European Chamber of Commerce in Singapore (EuroCham).

Third Country
Share this Article